Layers of seaweed

I’m still enjoying playing with pen and ink mixed with charcoal

Working from some photos of seaweed and a lot of artistic license, I made a pen drawing of the major strands. I like to go over my lines twice, I think it gives a more natural feel. Then I filled in the negative shapes with willow charcoal.

20170724_092053

Once that was done I started picking out some seaweed in the charcoal using a putty rubber and a cotton bud.

20170725_092746

I did consider leaving it like this, I like the contrast of the white shapes with the charcoal ones behind.

20170725_102433

Nevertheless I was attracted to the bulbous shapes of the bladders on the seaweed and started shading them with charcoal.

20170725_111922

This is the end result (forgive the light shining on the photo). This was very satisfying to draw, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Next time I do a subject like this I’ll add in a focal point though.

Leave a comment