Campsie hills spring sketching

My favorite subject at the moment is the beautiful Campsie hills which I see every day and never fail to lift my mood.

I did a few sketches of the western side of the Campsies (from the south) including Dumgoyne and the Strathblane hills.

I started with a quick acrylic block-in using various greys made by mixing ultramarine and burnt umber and titanium white. On top of that I increased the tonal range using charcoal.

I used oil and standard pastels to create some texture and interest in the sky and foreground. The oil pastels made a bit of a dirty mess when they mixed with the charcoal but I quite liked the effect.

Campsies spring charcoal

My next sketch was just acrylics. I painted on acrylic paper and used a palette knife. The paint was drying as I was applying the next layers which created quite interesting textures when I then rubbed and scraped it back.

It was taped to the board which leaves a nice frame when I take it off. I quite like how the tape lifts the paint off in parts and some is left on in others, like the landscape is creeping out of the frame.

Campsies spring acrylic

Leave a Reply

