Glencoe painting Stage 2

Stage 2 of the Glencoe painting involved toning down the bright green with a grey/green glaze.

This is my friend today, I use quite high ratios of Golden Acrylic Glazing Medium (I always use gloss if possible, I prefer the finish). The medium allows the colours to shine through but also delays the drying time a little, allowing my to blend a little and create the misty effect.

dsc_0658

_20170109_204922
this was the painting at the end of the 1st stage

I adjusted the glazes with increasing amounts of ultramarine and titanium white for the mountains in the background. I tried to blend these glazes between the layers of hills.

dsc_0657
I applied glazes with increasing amounts of ultramarine and white as the hills recede
dsc_0656
Close up of the background hills

The foreground glazes contained more burnt umber and cadmium yellow and no white.

dsc_0659
end of stage 2

It seems a shame to cover all of the colour that was underneath but the brighter bits should shine through and their purpose was just to give me a guide. I think I will darken the hills in the midground in subsequent stages but the background hills are much as they will stay I think.

I will try to include hints of colour in the later glazes.

Leave a Reply

