Scandalous

I love the US drama Scandal and I keep seeing a great painting on the wall in Olivia Pope’s office.

dsc_0002_18

After a bit of detective work I discovered the artist is Randy Hibberd and it’s called Beauty in Blue. I really like it’s simple calmness so I thought I’d have a go at something similar.

dsc_0573

I didn’t try to make a copy using acrylics but I just wanted to see where it would take me. I tried to imitate the colours but I had to add some drips (I love drips!).

As with all my work I put it away for a couple of weeks or months and then look at it with fresh eyes. I think to create the same sense of calm as Hibberd’s painting I would need to work on my blending. I always struggle with blending acrylics as they dry so fast, easy peasy with oils. Any tips with how I can achieve this using a medium would be gladly received!

Anyway, I’m moderately happy with it, it was one of my first abstracts so I need to practice a bit. Also need to finish it with some varnish as the surface is too matt. In hindsight, looking at the prints sold on the internet it seems to be glazes of colour. I’ve not really mastered glazing with acrylics yet, need to find the correct medium. Just bought some Golden Acrylic Glazing Liquid (gloss), hoping this will help.

 

Leave a Reply

